butchering the english language since 1985
exercise number one

i asked people to volunteer to be prompts for creative writing exercises for me, and said i'd post them in my livejournal so they could read them. today i did the first one, diana's. it's written from her perspective and is about towson. i don't think it is that good, but i haven't been writing lately and i do need to start exercising my mind and hands again. i think the problem might be lack of emotion when writing it. but oh well. i do need to get around to learning how to write without it. anyhow, here it is. i'll be posting them all in here, since this is my writing journal afterall.

sometimes i dont even know where to start. walking down sidewalks, glancing into darkened alleys and picking up my pace. i've been breathing this air for years, and i used to take comfort in familiar stagnation, but not anymore. this smog is stifling, these people unfulfilled. that's why there's such a backlash in this town. i like to sit against cold brick buildings in the winter with my legs crossed, scrimpy gloves cut off at the tips so that i can still twist strands of hair around my fingernails. i watch people as they go by; how unique of me, i know, but afford me the priviledge of the benefit of the doubt for a moment. have you ever tried it? it's a game to me, making up these peoples' lives in my head as they pass on their way to some important date with their eyebrow artist, philosophy class, or executive meeting. i know other people do this too, and that's what intrigues me; if we all wrote these stories down and shared them with the entire world instead of trying to be so goddamn unique for ourselves, eventually we'd find someone who'd made up a story about us. it's so full circle, friends, so necessary. don't you see what the world could do if it put its mind to it? some say it never will; i have my doubts, but i generally hold out hope.

that's the difference between me and this town i already began to leave behind years ago- i hope for the world, and it hopes for nothing.

last five entries:
blisters and bruises - 03.18.08
dorsey - 03.13.07
finding peace - 02.02.07
unintentional clean slate - 09.11.06
natural born cyborg - 06.23.06

currently
11.30.04
5:34 pm

quote
this memory of you holds more than a photograph. it's much more than a book of old pictures locked away without a name.