butchering the english language since 1985
michael

these two pieces were written around the same time last summer about the same subject so i'm putting them in the same entry. same same same. one is a sonnet and the other is just free thought prose.

gist avenue

it was charcoal gray on her porch that night
with the faintly glowing embers of her
cigarette providing us with soft light
the frightning things she tells me start to blur

her voice, tears laced with self loath and sadness
as she tells me of her exploits, the car
that drove her away, and his evil caress
i can't save her from this place it's too far

i stand to leave and hug her empty shell
and she smiles and waves as i run down
the dark street that i somehow know so well
through his door shaded soft sienna brown

and i smile while he kisses my lips
as my skin falls to the floor with short snips

and it comes spilling out of my slit throat

there is a scratch on my chest just red enough and just raised enough that i noticed it in the diffused afternoon light coming through my window. my tank top is mint green and laced with rickrack, and refuses to stay up high enough to cover all of my bra. i was wearing this tank top that night, underneath a blue shirt and a cloak of anticipation. and i ran to your house in the darkness while trees leered at me and crickets laughed at my cowardice. and i crept up the steps behind you in silent shadow praying no one would wake up. and i kissed you and you kissed me and it was so dark i could reach out and grab a handful and rub it in my hair and so you didn't see my tank top until the next morning when i woke up tangled between sheets and limbs. and i was acutely aware of every creaking wooden floorboard praying no one would open your door and see me lying their exposed in my pretty tank top that doesn't cover all of my bra. what i would give to feel that again is equivalent to what i can't live.

last five entries:
blisters and bruises - 03.18.08
dorsey - 03.13.07
finding peace - 02.02.07
unintentional clean slate - 09.11.06
natural born cyborg - 06.23.06

currently
04.02.03
4:28 pm

quote
this memory of you holds more than a photograph. it's much more than a book of old pictures locked away without a name.